Re: Update to "in-testing" version From: Bill J Gray

skyview32000 May 25, 2008

--- In guide-user@yahoogroups.com, Bill J Gray <pluto@...> wrote:
Hi Bill:

Yes I realized that I had to answer "yes replace" to all the files to
get the upgrade. I mentioned the replacement aspect in reference to
my question about reversion to the previous state without starting
from scratch.

At level 7 centred on Jupiter, the planet is not a disc but is a
symbol. As soon as I go to level 8, I get the crash.

With Planets on and Jupiter centred as a symbol, I can then goto the
Moon with no crash.

With planets turned off the crash does not occur, event if I go to
level 10 and then a goto to Jupiter. When I do this goto there is no
change of field.

With planets on I can goto the moon at level 10 but the program
crashes if I go back to Jupiter. Are the planets treated differently
from Luna? With Planets on, I can go to Phobos and Deimos at L. 10,
but no planet is displayed (no surprise there).

I've sent Startup.mar to pluto@....

Regards,

Richard


>
> Hi Richard,
>
> First off... yes, lots of files should be replaced. Be warned
> that if you answer "no" to the usual "replace file XYZ (Yes, No,
> All, Rename)" questions, then crashes are apt to occur. That
> is to say, when updating, you want to unZIP _all_ of the files,
> not just the new ones!
>
> At level 10, Jupiter would show up as a disk, so the crash
> may be related to that fact. If so, going to level 7 and
> centering on Jupiter should work, because Jupiter doesn't show
> up as a disk at that field of view. But if you then center on
> the Moon, you would get a crash, because that _would_ show up
> as a disk at level 7. Does that describe what you're seeing?
> If you go into Display... Data Shown and turn planets Off,
> do the crashes go away? (If they don't, I'm barking up the
> wrong tree in thinking it has anything to do with planets.)
> Also, could you please send the file 'startup.mar' from your
> Guide folder to me? I'd like to see if I can replicate this problem.
>
> Unfortunately, no, there's no straightforward way to do a
> "roll-back", except to reinstall from scratch. As you might
> expect, that causes you to lose a lot of settings (lat/lon,
> time zone, data shown, colors, magnitude limits, and so on).
> So it should be a last resort.
>
> -- Bill
>