Re: [guide-user] Toggle "read-only"

Bill J Gray Mar 26, 2008

Hi Larry,

"...the _only_ Guide file I have write-protected is a
'toolbar.bak' which keeps me from having to redo my toolbar
whenever I d/l a G8 revision."

At least in theory, you shouldn't have to do that. There
_was_ a time when the update file contained a replacement
toolbar.dat, so you'd lose your toolbar settings every time
you updated. Also, if you'd created your own toolbar bitmaps,
their names would be replaced with whatever I had in the new
file.

Things are considerably better now: Guide looks at your
existing 'toolbar.dat' and merges in new buttons, which
default to being off. The upshot of this is that, if you
unZIP everything from the update file and don't write-protect
everything, you should see the same toolbar buttons on-screen
as you did before the update. And when you go into the Settings...
Toolbar dialog, you ought to see a few new toolbar options.

If anyone is _not_ seeing this, I'd like to know about it.

-- Bill